Designing new products is my favorite part of making jewelry! I’ve been thinking about this necklace for weeks now and finally got all my supplies in to make it. In most cases I already have a pretty good idea of how I want the final piece to look but until you have everything sitting in front of you, it’s hard to know exactly how it’s going to look.

So the first thing I do is set all of my pieces that I might possibly use in front of me so that I can see how the colors all look side-by-side. Is there anything that clashes really bad? Once I’ve narrowed that down then I start lining everything up for how I want it to look. This is the part where I sometimes completely change my mind from where I began and end up with something I had never dreamed of.

wp-1463089670495.jpg

Once I feel comfortable with how all of the pieces look together, then I start to string everything together. Even at this point I sometimes make changes – but not with this one. Like I said, I had been imagining it for weeks – and it came out just the way I envisioned it.

I couldn’t be more pleased with how this turned out. All of the beads are Swarovski Glass Pearls in colors such as Blackberry, Powder Rose, Pastel Rose and of course the classic white. Hugging the dark purple blackberry pearls are flower shaped bead caps and the connectors between the main section of the necklace and the back are delicate silver clouds. It’s finished off with a Zamak toggle clasp and measures 24 in. long.

I couldn’t be happier with how well this turned out! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did – my head in the clouds…

Leave a Reply

